Install Ubuntu Grub Bootloader After Windows Wipes it Out

Reinstall Ubuntu Grub Bootloader After Windows Wipes it Out:

I have dual boot system..

1.Windows Xp2

2.Ubuntu8.04.

Because of my xp is affected by virus, I just installed my xp again.
But after installing xp , grub loader of Ubuntu wipes….
So need to re configure again….after googling I found this solution which works for me…

1.First boot ubuntu using ur cd….
2.Open a Terminal and type in the following commands, noting that the first command will put you into the grub “prompt”, and the next 3 commands will be executed there. Also note that hd0,0 implies the first hard drive and the first partition on that drive, which is where you probably installed grub to during installation. If not, then adjust accordingly.

sudo grub

> root (hd0,0)

> setup (hd0)

> exit
Reboot (removing the livecd), and your boot menu should be back.
But I have two hard disk one sata & another ata .
So I hav to change acording to my requirement..

>root(hd0,5)

>setup (hd1)

here,  ‘0’ is  replaced by 5 in root(hd0,0) & ‘0’  replaced by ‘1’ as I hav four partion on sata, fifth is on ata anoter hard disk where my linux is present..
Before this I confirmed that my sata is primary master dard disk…
you will get more information  from  http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/ubuntu/reinstall-ubuntu-grub-bootloader-after-windows-wipes-it-out/

PHP Developer..

Tagged with:
Posted in Ubuntu

Leave a Reply

